Guide to Media, Broadcasting, Creative, Advertising and Journalism Awards and Contests
Home ] Up ] Media Awards in the SMECC Collection ]






Joan Anderson, recipient of the 1963 Clio award as the "Best on Camera Spokeswoman" at the fourth annual awards luncheon of the American 'TV Commercials Festival, Shows her trophy to James B. Lightburn, Vice President, Purolator Products Inc., sponsors of the award winning commercial.

Both were present at the Waldorf Astoria luncheon on May 24.

The award winning commercial, dubbed the "world's dirtiest. commercial," is the first TV spot produced by the automotive filter company and marked Purolator's debut into TV advertising.

Dean A. Kearsh
NEW YORK 17, N. ¥.
MUrray Hill 6-7000 
May 28, 1963




Uncle Ed's Award Guide. 
There is an award out there with YOUR name on it!

Video, Television, Film Awards
Advertising & Design Awards
Journalism Awards WEB Awards PR Awards
Remember - Some of these awards cover MANY categories but we have placed them where they are the strongest. We recommend that you examine  awards  programs in adjoining categories as well.   

Accolade Awards

AVA Awards

Aegis Awards

Aurora Awards


Cine Awards

Clio Awards

The Christopher Awards

DV Awards

Emmy Awards Nat. News & Doc

Emmy Awards (Regional)

EMPixx Awards

Gabriel Awards

Hermes Creative Awards

Millennium Awards

Mobius Awards

NATOA Awards

Pixie Awards

Telly Awards

US Intl Film & Video Fest.

Videographer Awards

Worldfest Houston


Addy Awards

American Graphic

Design Awards

Andy Awards

Cannes Gold Lion

Clio Awards

Communicator Awards

Creativity Annual

Davey Awards

Freddie Awards

Hermes Creative Awards

Impact Awards

Inspire Awards 

Mar Com Awards

Magellan Awards 

Media Vanguard Awards 

Mobius Awards

New York Festivals

Spotlight Awards 

Summit Awards

Vision Awards


Edward R. Murrow Awards 

Emmy Awards Nat. News & Doc

Emmy Awards (Regional)

Pulitzer Prize

Walter Cronkite Award


Hermes Creative Awards

Horizon Awards

Pixel Awards

Pixie Awards

W3 Awards

Webby Awards


PR News Award Programs
The Platinum PR Awards
PR People Awards
Nonprofit PR Awards
CSR Awards

- Video Awards - Film Awards - TV Awards - Television Awards - Television Programming - TV Programming - Internet Awards - Web Awards - Animation Awards - Advertising Awards - Design Awards - Graphic Design Awards - Independent Film Awards - Creative Awards - Visual Awards - FX Awards - Effects Awards - Motion Graphics Awards - Photoshop Awards - After Effects Awards - Motion Awards - Creative Awards Competitions


Retired awards 






Thanks to Steve Yankee that  inspired and provided me with some of the first award  site info.

      First presented in 1949, the Christopher Awards were established by Christopher founder Father James Keller to salute media that “affirm the highest values of the human spirit.” Their goal is to encourage men, women and children to pursue excellence in creative arenas that have the potential to influence a mass audience positively. Award winners encourage audiences to see the better side of human nature and motivate artists and the general public to use their best instincts on behalf of others.

About the Gabriels
Introduced by Catholic media professionals to recognize the uplifting and inspiring stories of film, radio, television and the personalities behind and in front of the microphone, this is a part of our history.
About the Gabriels
Introduced by Catholic media professionals to recognize the uplifting and inspiring stories of film, radio, television and the personalities behind and in front of the microphone, this is a part of our history.

The Walter Cronkite Award
USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center
The Cronkite Award recognizes television journalism that helps viewers understand who the candidates are; what the issues and ballot propositions are; how electoral choices will affect their lives; how to assess campaign information, including advertising; and how to register, vote and make their own voices heard

The iconic Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal is awarded each year to the American newspaper that wins the Public Service category. It is never awarded to an individual. However, through the years, the Medal has come to symbolize the entire Pulitzer program.





The Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio-Television News Directors Association in recognition of what the Association terms "outstanding achievements in electronic journalism."



Does anyone know what this trophy is for?  It is a television related award. We have one that might indicate is is from Spain or Latin American Television or video production?
email info@smecc  and use subject 'odd production award'




Everyday we rescue items you see on these pages!
What do you have hiding in a closet or garage?
What could you add to the museum displays or the library?



DONATE! Click the Button Below!

Thank you very much!


Material © SMECC 2007 or by other owners 

Contact Information for
Southwest Museum of Engineering,
Communications and Computation 

Talk to us!
Let us know what needs preserving!


Postal address - Admin. 
Coury House / SMECC 
5802 W. Palmaire Ave 
Glendale, AZ 85301 

Electronic mail 
General Information: